top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWahyu Riawanti

Fasting Month

I have mentioned that a festival day always refers to certain food. Fasting month for me is about good local appetizers. We mostly serve delicious sweet food before starting to have a big meal. Indonesians have so many different kinds of appetizer for this event, commonly called takjil. This year I happily make my program of One Day One Takjil.




The first appetizer I made was of sweet drink with rich flavor: sweet coconut taste of shredded ice, sago pearl jelly, sour mango, and sweet fermented rice. They called it Es Doger. Doger literally means dorong- gerobak or pushed cart, where the traditional sellers usually put them in a cart.


Was that better than what those traditional vendors sell? I would say yes, and I do prefer to make my own version of Es Doger. Mostly the common sellers provide too sweet drinks and limited ingredients. I made myself the very version so I can select only the ingredients that I want and choose only the premium source. Yummy yet less harm.


8 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page