top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWahyu Riawanti

Ipomea batatas

I can't stop making food from these tasty sweet potatoes. My other favorite local food source that easily made for cake, chips, and drinks. I just imagine that centuries before in the early age of the agricultural revolution era Homo Sapiens start to cultivate Ipomea batatas. Long after that, they started to mash the potatoes and combine them with cassava flour, put it in a coconut bowl, and made exactly the same snack just like what I have now. Voila.



This food of Talam Ubi was consumed even before the letter was invented, I guess. And now I still have the very same shape, same color, and they must have the very same taste. When I steamed these cakes in my very kitchen, I did feel like a lady of the hunter-gatherer culture in the fancy stove in the corner of the cave.


How can't I think about what was it like to cook the food for the children in that era?. So now when I feed my kid that food (yes, I should feed her for her rejection from that unusual look of food. Even though I told her it was my favorite food, my kid just didn't realize that her mom still has a primitive brain and behavior.

21 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page