top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWahyu Riawanti

My Father's Fav Bread

Updated: Sep 27, 2022

If I may regret one simple thing in life, probably it is the fact that I never cook for my late father. I did memorize all my father's favorite food and tried to provide those food during the last year of his life. And if I would be able to live this life over, I will do baking his favorite bread, this simple Coconut bread - Roti Kelapa.




I made some of that roti kelapa last weekend. I wonder if this bread is common and liked by the older including my Dad's generation. This may be because the coconut that stiffed inside the bread is quite familiar for them to taste. Coconut familiarity is way different compared to chocolate or cheese, which is considered less traditional. The tasty asin-manis of the coconut taste now become my Moms favorite bread and also for the elders in my traditional family.


Baking your own bread (and also other food and meal) will create so many stories, memories, and moments. Especially if you grew up in an east-cultured big family. For this very simple reason, I did arrange my time to always bake something during the week, to make more stories to tell.

15 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page