top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWahyu Riawanti

My Homemade Bruschetta

Updated: Dec 2, 2021

A mom happiness is truly too simple. When your kids love to eat the food you made and you could make sure she is well nourished by that. This is the story behind my Bruschetta, a simple and typical Italian food snack. I made some this morning and put 4 pieces on my daughter's table before I leave for office. And its all gone after 5 minutes... she said its so good and ate them all. I did feel I am a very happy mom this morning.



Speaking about Mom's thing, mostly its about food. Not all, but mostly. Its not easy to make sure that your kids will always follow you instruction to consume healthy food. Once I did it by provide her my version of good food. And after years I realize that my daughter and I are indeed different. I have a typical Asian sense with rice as staple food, and my kid prefer bread and other western food. It should not be a problem. Also I have the fact that she has problem with eating rice in the morning.


So, why should we push kids to eat our (adult) food and let the problem unsolved. Pardon my unfamiliar opinion. But we do have our own taste, especially in Asian countries when many different western food become more common. Recently, we have western food for breakfast and Indonesian food for dinner, during weekdays. Only in certain occasion I will cook Asian brunch for us. Elder people do like local food, but we should compromise.


Is it now easier to make my kid eating heathier meals? No, of course not. We need more effort to deal with that, still. But I realize one thing about that: make the comfort and happy first, and you will be able to tell them what good food is. Make my daughter relax, laugh and enjoy her day... that will be the right moment to say something significant. I think. That is my humble opinion.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page