top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWahyu Riawanti

Roses, either flowers or cakes

Updated: Nov 3, 2021


I used to be in love with roses. A bunch of trees with abundance of red roses in an old house somewhere in my home town. How could it possible for someone to be in love with a tree? It would be left unanswered, but indeed it might be easier and less risky for someone to be in love with something. And in my case, it was flower. And this very recent time I found myself to be so much fond of my own cake of flowers http://www.eastoftheweb.com/short-stories/UBooks/NigRos.shtml



This might be interesting, that I was so much influenced by the idea of a story written by Oscar Wilde. A very painfully beautiful story about a sacrifice made by a nightingale bird to provide a red rose. I the name of love. I cried many times reading it over and over. See http://www.eastoftheweb.com/short-stories/UBooks/NigRos.shtml


"Death is a great price to pay for a red rose," cried the Nightingale, "and Life is very dear to all...

(The Nightingale and the Rose - by Oscar Wilde)"


Frankly, I have opportunity to make it accidentally. Once I have a local food that provide me abundant of dough. Instead of making the very same recipe, I was encouraged to try the new different cuisine. Along a very early in the morning, struggling with the heat pan and the right color for the roses, I made that stand out color of the roses cake.


It basically just a different form of net cake, a quite popular food from North Sumatra. With a little effort of different pattern, bake it and roll it up with certain leaves pattern, it appear to be a bunch of beautiful flowers. What a surprise! Those little creatures seemed to live in the middle of my plate.

Of course I need to be make it done perfectly and perform every detail thoroughly. It took certain times to put the 4 pattern dough, bake it twice and carefully make the petals only for one single bite of that rose cake. It definitely the very example of "no pain no gain". But why wonder, when you were really in love you will not care how difficult it is to bear the pain. Dih, curhat.



I might be just basically in love with roses, either flower or cake



13 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page