top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWahyu Riawanti

The Gorgeous Mango Gedong

Can we just eat fruits only? This question have just come to my mind while I was taking photos of my Mango Sago dessert last weekend. This dessert was just so damned good. And the fruit itself - I called it Mangga Gedong Gincu, Mangifera indica L. - is one of the best fruits in universe, I guess.




Mangga Gedong Gincu. It literally means Mango with lipstick (for a stand out color) for the rich people only. One reference mentions it came from Gujarat and only consumed by rich people in Cirebon West Java, the central of the fruit. Indeed, when I was a kid I always think its only for they who can afford it for it was highly expensive. Later when I'm getting older I just find out that this fruit variety was completely genetically modified. The gorgeous yellow-red variety of Mangga Gedong Gincu was launched first in 1995 by Indonesian Agriculture Department. See https://edura.id/blog/biologi/rekayasa-genetika/#Mangga_Arumanis_dan_Gedong_Gincu


I have no certain agenda towards GMO. But it still surprised me that this fruit is not as indigenous as what I might imagine. Of course its a great debate about what is indigenous are. And nothing is actually fully indigenous, though. Its just our ego to claim certain food of things as ours. Aren't we?


But anyway, some ketois friends and vegans used to have this as their diet. I am kind of sure that this style of diet seems to be promising. Can we just eat fruit only? I thinks so. Only if it is as good as Mangga Gedong Gincu.


10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page